Financial Sector: Senate Screens Nominees Of President Buhari To Fill NDIC Non-Executive Director Slots.

Non-Executive Director nominees of President Muhammad Buhari, Diana Okonta and Ya’ana Yaro.


The Nigerian Senate has successfully screened two nominees of President Muhammad Buhari, Diana Okonta and Ya’ana Yaro, to the board of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation, NDIC, as Non-Executive Directors.

Chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions, Uba Sani, commended the President for nominating the two candidates to the Board of the Corporation.

He expressed delight that the two nominees both women are well qualified with proven track record of impressive performance, hoping that they would bring their vast experience to bear in the performance of the board.

DG NDIC, Umaru Ibrahim.

Sani charged the NDIC Board and Management to re-double their efforts at promoting good corporate governance practices in the banking industry while also commending the NDIC for constantly responding to emerging trends and business models in the financial sector.

President Buhari had earlier forwarded to the Senate, names of Diana Okonta and Ya’ana Yaro as Non-Executive Director nominees to represent the South-South and North-East geo-political zones, respectively, on the Board of the NDIC.

Diana, a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountant of Nigeria (ICAN) has over thirty years cognate experience spanning both the private and public sectors while Ya’ana Yaro, is a member of the ICAN and Nigeria Institute of Marketing with over thirty years’ experience in both the private and public sectors.

Comment here